Membership & Staff

The Legislative Committee operates during the legislative sessions and makes recommendations to policy makers on justice related legislation.

  • Martin Suazo, Chair
  • Bennett Baur, Chief Public Defender
  • Jason Bowie, Acting Secretary of the Department of Public Safety
  • Sheriff Mark Cage, appointed by the House Minority Floor Leader
  • Hon. John Chavez, appointed by the New Mexico Supreme Court
  • Bob Cleavall, appointed by the Speaker of the House
  • Mark Donatelli, appointed by the Speaker of the House
  • Celina Jones, Administrative Office of the Courts, for the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court
  • Anne Kelly, for the Attorney General
  • Alisa Lauer, for the Children, Youth, and Families Department
  • Angela "Spence" Pacheco, appointed by the Speaker of the House
  • David Schmidt, appointed by the Senate President Pro Tem
  • Alisha Tafoya-Lucero, Acting Secretary of Corrections
  • Clint Wellborn, appointed by the District Attorneys Association
  • Linda Freeman, New Mexico Sentencing Commission Executive Director
  • Douglas Carver, New Mexico Sentencing Commission Deputy Director